I am most definitely-not-a freak out woman?!

Today, Wednesday Sept 26, is the day we read chapter 2 of Unglued by Lysa Terkeurst. Title: I’m Not A Freak-Out Woman.

Funny saying that, because no matter how you see it woman or man, We all have those moments, where huffing and puffing turns us into the big bad wolf who is about the blow all those houses in. I, for one, am on that side as well. Lately thought I haven’t had to become the big bad wolf. It only seems I become that cloaked monster when my house is full with all 7 of my nieces and nephews, not forget there parents, and my aunts and uncles.

Yup you know what I’m talking about. Those family gatherings that happen during that time of year, this time of year. I can’t imagine myself doing it for another year, but it so happens, I drone out the activity of eating and smiling as if I’m really ecstatic about seeing my over-dramatic first set of cousins and there talkative kids.

Yes, that’s how I see them, but after reading chapter two, and the section on Joshua’s Questions, I began to realize that I was going completely wrong about my situation. Instead of saying, “God, why did you make thanksgiving and Christmas so close to each other?”  I should be thankful that I at least get to see one-seventh of my family twice out of the year. Yet there is still that issue that doesn’t seem to go away no matter how small the ratio is. One-sixth of my whole entire family will be there!

Now, I am faced with a situation that is not in my control! What should I do now? Once again I find myself selling God short a few trust glands I own.  Page 28, chapter two were Lysa goes on to say,

If we determine that, no matter what, we’re on God’s side, it settles the trust issue in our hearts. And if we ground ourselves in the reality that we trust God, we can face circumstances that are out of control without acting out of control.

For the first time, actually reading it and not just knowing, I can really understand what to do. Just trust God, that everyone would be polite and understanding, that not everyone is like ‘me’, (to just sit quietly at the kiddie table and help the tiny kids get around.) Nope, they aren’t. They will sit and talk-loudly, laugh-heartily, and when it’s time for them to leave they will wish us off and have memories of the night saying next year we will have to top it, “Let’s play music this time.”

In the end, I can probably take out would be having a good time and an overdose on conversations.

No More Freaking out,

Annie ^_^

Leave a Reply

